Birds, near and far

Sometimes I take long trips (even long day trips) to go see birds and take pictures of them, such as my 400-mile day trip to Ocean City, Maryland.

But sometimes birds just come to me, like this Cooper’s Hawk. The other day when I went out check my mail, it suddenly flew to and perched on a tree right in my front yard! I held my breath and got out my camera. Luckily, it stayed for a few minutes and I was able to snap a few pictures of it. The light was fading but at such close range, I was able to capture some stunning details.

Cooper's Hawk

Cooper’s Hawk

In the next picture, blown up to 100%, you can see the details:

Cooper's Hawk

Cooper’s Hawk

So, sometimes all you need to be is in the right place at the right time, and sometimes that place may just be your home.

This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birds, near and far

Leave a Reply

