To the far-flung places – A year in review (3)

My third and last big trip of 2013 was a two-week trip to Spain, Morocco and Gibraltar.

I take bird (and other wildlife) pictures. One thing I’ve learned is that to get new birds, it is best to travel to new locations — there, even the most common, even “nuisance” birds are new. Although this trip was not a “birding trip”, and in fact I did not even bring my big lens, I managed to get a few good pictures of new birds.

Black-headed Gull

Black-headed Gull in Barcelona

Yellow-legged Gull

Yellow-legged Gull in Barcelona

Gray Heron

Gray Heron in Cordoba

Lizard

Lizard in Granada

Eurasian Collared Dove

Eurasian Collared Dove in Serville

Red-billed Chough

Red-billed Chough in Segovia

But the most memorable wildlife encounter happened in Gibraltar, where the Barbary Macaques are protected in the Upper Rock Nature Reserve.

Barbary Macaques

Barbary Macaques

Barbary Macaque

Barbary Macaque

Barbary Macaque

Barbary Macaque

But wildlife watching was not our only occupation on this trip. We immersed ourselves in the culture of Spain, Britain and Morocco. The following are some scenic and street pictures on this trip.

Park Guell

Park Guell in Barcelona

Alhambra

Alhambra in Granada

Mezquita

Mezquita in Cordoba

Bath House

Bath House in Serville

Europa Point Lighthouse

Europa Point Lighthouse in Gibraltar

And on this trip, I set my foot on Africa for the first time — I took a day trip to Tangier, Morocco.

Cape Spartel Lighthouse

Cape Spartel Lighthouse in Tangier, Morocco

So, yes, I am still firmly a “traveler at home”, but I certainly do not mind going to a few far flung places once in a while.

For more on this trip (including more pictures), you may visit the dedicated page on my personal website.

This entry was posted in Nature, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

